Ampeg V4.com

forum

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-19 07:17:57

faraway
New member
Registered: 2012-01-22
Posts: 7

V4B running with 230 V

Hi everybody,

first of all, this is a great forum !
Second point my engilsh lessons are long ago.

Im looking forward for some advise.
My V4B is an 110V Version and i run it with an
external Transformator that i had bought with for
the last 22 years. Up to now no problems.
The band i resently joined like to record
in the practice room.
The attempt to record the bass through the
V4Bs preamp out to a recoring interface for PC
failed because of too much humming.
I shut down the V4B and the Hum (on the interface)was still there.
Only after I plug of the external transfomator,
the hum disapears. By the way there is no hum on the
speakers. So should i buy a new external Transfomator
and if so, which one is recomended ?
The old one has no Typ label.

Thanks o lot for every answer/advice

Greetings from Germany

Peter

Offline

 

#2 2013-04-19 14:18:55

hangman
Banned
From: Seattle Washington
Registered: 2006-09-03
Posts: 1848

Re: V4B running with 230 V

Hi Peter,  welcome to the forum!

Have you checked to see if your v4 has the dual primary power transformer that would allow you to rewire it and run it at 220 directly?

Offline

 

#3 2013-04-19 23:05:55

faraway
New member
Registered: 2012-01-22
Posts: 7

Re: V4B running with 230 V

Hi hangman,

many thanks for your answeer !

This would be funny. Nobody thought of this possibility and i carried the 14 lbs external transformator with me for the last 22 years !
I will check your suggestion next week in
the practice room.
If ihe amp is fited with a dual primary trafo,
i think i should find two unwired pins. Right ?
Did they have any marks or colours ?
Is there any need to change the fuse after a rewireing to 230 V ?
An additional thougt of mine is, that the external
trafo stand on top of the amp, almost on the place above the transponder trafo (hope this is the right word, front sight, right side). Could this cause the hum (due to the magnetic field)?

Sorry for bad grammar, writing mistakes and small vocabulary. Wasnt good at school in english and
to google every missing word last too long ;-)

Peter

Offline

 

#4 2013-04-20 00:00:17

hangman
Banned
From: Seattle Washington
Registered: 2006-09-03
Posts: 1848

Re: V4B running with 230 V

If you open the amp the power transformer won't have any pins on it. If it is a dual primary the two sections of the primary are either in series or parallel, depending on which voltage the amp is set up for.  How you will know is if the power transformer has 8 total wires coming from it.  If it only has 6 then you can't rewire it.

Offline

 

#5 2013-05-03 06:41:13

faraway
New member
Registered: 2012-01-22
Posts: 7

Re: V4B running with 230 V

???

I will post to this thread, when Ive got my
amp at home. Have a lot buisness at the time.

Peter

Offline

 

#6 2013-05-12 01:44:41

faraway
New member
Registered: 2012-01-22
Posts: 7

Re: V4B running with 230 V

Hi Hangman,

Ive just opened the amp.
Unfortunally there are coming only 6 wires out
of the transformer, but Im a little bit
astonished about one label inside.
I hope my img-tag works.

Peter

http://img3.fotos-hochladen.net/uploads/v4blabelinsidxvj7wy02qr.jpg

Last edited by faraway (2013-05-12 01:56:58)

Offline

 

#7 2013-05-12 02:01:05

faraway
New member
Registered: 2012-01-22
Posts: 7

Re: V4B running with 230 V

So, if i cant rewire the amp,
any suggsetions for an good, "hum-free" external
transformer ?

Thanks

Peter

Offline

 

#8 2013-05-13 12:32:33

hangman
Banned
From: Seattle Washington
Registered: 2006-09-03
Posts: 1848

Re: V4B running with 230 V

You could just purchase a mercury magnetics upgrade power transformer ith the dual primary.   Then you would not need an external transformer.

Offline

 

#9 2013-05-13 22:08:35

faraway
New member
Registered: 2012-01-22
Posts: 7

Re: V4B running with 230 V

Hi Hangman,

thanks for your answers.

I always thought to keep the amp "original",
as an (in germany) "exotic" version.
May be it takes a liitle time to change my
opinion. If i wont do this, how much
power (watts) is recommended for an external
transformator ?

Peter

Offline

 

#10 2013-05-16 10:02:22

hangman
Banned
From: Seattle Washington
Registered: 2006-09-03
Posts: 1848

Re: V4B running with 230 V

Using a transformer that is an exact remake of the original dual primary is not exactly tainting the amp.  Plus any steps own transformer you get is going to impart some sag due to imperfections. 

I think having your amp be practical AND original,  would be the best situation.

Offline

 

#11 2013-05-24 09:15:07

faraway
New member
Registered: 2012-01-22
Posts: 7

Re: V4B running with 230 V

Hi Hangman,

I agree with your opinion.
Before i spend money on a new transformer,
I want to be quit sure to solve the Hum-Problem
with this action.

If i use the amp just normal with my bassbox,
there is no hum at all.

I tried to use the preamp-out at home with
my Powermixer (Impendanz 100KOhm, Preamp out
requires at least 10KOhm)

If i connect the preamp-out with the Mixer,
there is Hum on the PA-Speaker and on the bassbox.
Changing the volume on the amp(without playing bass) affect the Hum, but only for the bassbox not for the Pa-Speaker, they are humming constantly).

Most Hum at 0 Volume, and by turning the volumneknob to max, the hum disapears continuitly and at volume ten there is just a noise that seems to me normal for max. volume. This happens at both amp inputs.

Could it perhaps be a Preamp-out-Problem ?

so far many thanks for your advices,
i hope you can deal with my english ;-)

Peter

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson