Ampeg V4.com

forum

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-01 15:58:57

bluesmandan
New member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 2

VT22 Switchable Ohms not working. What to do?

I've been running my VT22 at 4 ohms just fine; that's how it came with the Altecs (which I've replaced with WGS Retro 30's). I just acquired an 8 ohm bass cabinet, and tried hooking up the cabinet to the VT22, and used the selectable ohms switch in the amp... switched it to 8 Ohms, hooked everything up, turned her on, and... nothing. No sound whatsoever. Nothing wrong with the cabinet; I checked... it worked fine at 4 ohms in parallel with another 8 ohm cab... but the VT22 running at 8 ohms produces no sound.

There must be some kind of problem with the circuitry behind the selectable ohms. Right? Any ideas?

Offline

 

#2 2012-10-02 06:12:18

JustAGuy
Member
Registered: 2010-10-19
Posts: 64

Re: VT22 Switchable Ohms not working. What to do?

I experienced a similar problem a while back.  Try moving the switch back and forth for a while.  If it hasn't been moved in a long time, it might just need to have the contacts rubbed a little.  Worked on mine.  Good luck!

Offline

 

#3 2012-10-03 23:36:12

bluesmandan
New member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 2

Re: VT22 Switchable Ohms not working. What to do?

Hey JustAGuy, great suggestion. Worked like a charm!!!  Boy does the 22 sound FAT. Lovin' it.
: )

Offline

 

#4 2012-10-04 01:34:12

JustAGuy
Member
Registered: 2010-10-19
Posts: 64

Re: VT22 Switchable Ohms not working. What to do?

Glad it worked! (No credit to me...I think I got similar advice back when...just passing it along!)

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson