Ampeg V4.com

forum

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-25 01:35:48

patmac
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 11

Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

I opened up my cab and found this information. What can y'all tell me about my cabinet?

MFG # 1SP006
Model V2 (I think that is what it says, cant make it out real well)
Seriel # 31360
Watts 0.0

This info is on a little paper tag glued to the bottom of the cab.

Numbers on Speakers
6920058
137 7331
8 ohms

Size
42.5"x29"x14"

Thanks for the help!

Offline

 

#2 2011-08-25 04:05:33

teledeluxe
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 467

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

It's a V2 cabinet from 1973. The speakers were made by CTS.


2 wrongs don't make a right, but 3 lefts do!

Offline

 

#3 2011-08-25 16:27:50

patmac
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 11

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

is there a market for these? It doesnt have tolex on it, its been painted a satin black, grill cloth is black.... but it is in good shape. all speakers work... how much is something like this worth?

Offline

 

#4 2011-08-25 17:28:08

teledeluxe
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 467

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

Not much.

A local guy (Chicago area) has been trying to sell one on craigslist for $250 for a month with no takers. His is in better shape than yours since it is original. They are too huge for most people. You'll probably be lucky if you get $100 for it in that condition.


2 wrongs don't make a right, but 3 lefts do!

Offline

 

#5 2011-08-25 18:49:15

Steelyman
VIP
From: Massachusetts
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 107

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

It may just be that the speakers, if in good shape, are worth more out of the cab than in the cab.

Offline

 

#6 2011-08-25 19:01:58

teledeluxe
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 467

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

Steelyman wrote:

It may just be that the speakers, if in good shape, are worth more out of the cab than in the cab.

I tried that 2 years ago when I put Altecs in my V4 cab. I sold a pair of those CTS for $50. Couldn't sell the other two and ended up putting them in a 2x12 cabinet that I sold for almost nothing.


2 wrongs don't make a right, but 3 lefts do!

Offline

 

#7 2011-08-25 23:20:46

patmac
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 11

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

hmm... i may try and sell the v4b head and this cab as a pair and see if i can move them. They are just too big n heavy for this old man to lug around. smile

Offline

 

#8 2011-09-06 03:12:26

patmac
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 11

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

sorry for the double post...
Is this cab a 4Ohm ?
It has 4 x 8Ohm speakers... not sure how to test or how is wired.
thx

Offline

 

#9 2011-09-08 19:52:47

teledeluxe
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 467

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

Something happened to my post from 2 days ago and I'm not about to retype the whole thing.

4 x 8-ohm speakers can NOT be wired for 4 ohms total. Likely 8 ohms total (but also could be 2 or 32 ohms)


2 wrongs don't make a right, but 3 lefts do!

Offline

 

#10 2011-09-08 23:43:38

hangman
Banned
From: Seattle Washington
Registered: 2006-09-04
Posts: 1848

Re: Do I indeed have a V2 4x12 Cab?

Sorry Teledeluxe,  we had an issue with the forum software and the solution ended up being to restore the forum to a previously saved version.  we lost a few posts.   

doesn't happen often,  but we'd been having problems with a slew of "users" posting spam, and were trying to deal with that.

-steve

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson